Friday Quick Hitters: Carolina Chocolate Drops, Luminescent Orchestrii, The Windbreakers

Obviously, I listen to a lot more music than I’m able to share on this site.  A lot more.

The thing is… writing reviews takes time, and I have two jobs, a baby, a wife, and a dog that all require my attention.  It’s sometimes hard to find time to write lengthy reviews of all the stuff I want to feature.  ReviewShine Wednesday was one attempt to feature more music by writing shorter reviews of newer stuff.  Of course, there’s a lot of stuff I dig that isn’t featured on that site.

That’s what this space will hopefully become.  A place for me to briefly (two or three sentences at most) mention music that I’m listening to, but I know I’ll never have time to feature properly.  It will give you more stuff to listen to, and leave me feeling less guilty about all the stuff I’m neglecting/have neglected.

Carolina Chocolate Drops & Luminescent Orchestrii – Self-Titled EP

Nothing much here… Just your typical, “traditional string band paired with an Eastern European folk/klezmer band and a human beat box” record.  I’m sure we all have hundreds of these in our collection.

In all seriousness though… this EP is a lot of fun.

Carolina Chocolate Drops & Luminescent Orchestrii: Knockin’ (Buy Album)

The Windbreakers – Time Machine (1982 – 2002)

This is a “best of” collection from Tim Lee‘s former band and is full of jangly goodness.  Lee and  Bobby Sutliff were the driving forces behind this band and counted themselves as friends and contemporaries of groups like R.E.M. and Let’s Active.  This collection from 2003 is more than strong.

The Windbreakers: Changeless (Buy Album)

One Response to “Friday Quick Hitters: Carolina Chocolate Drops, Luminescent Orchestrii, The Windbreakers”

  1. Love the Carolina Chocolate Drops & Luminescent Orchestrii track – thanks for the chance to hear it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

